SEYCHELLES > Creole cuisine

Creole cuisine.

Seychellois cuisine is a tourist attraction in itself. It is a mixture of European, Indian and African cooking with exotic spices from China, Brazil and the Caribbean, such as curry, ginger, chilli, lemongrass, coriander and tamarind inherited from the various counters That counted France and England.Seychellois culinary art is a clever mixture of acidulous, sweet, rich and spicy flavors that echo the mestizo of the people.Over the centuries, these spices have combined to create a wide range of preparations that places Seychellois cuisine and its typical drinks on a unique place in the world of cooking.
Marine resources play an important role as well as tropical fruits and vegetables.
The accompanying king is rice cooked and flavored in multiple ways. Steamed, grilled, in banana leaf, baked, salted or smoked etc.
Other basic products include coconut, breadfruit, mango, green papaya, star fruit and banana.Lentils, pumpkins, chayotes, sweet potatoes, cassava, palm hearts are the other most common vegetables.
There is nothing confusing about Seychellois food. Except can be in the Bat Curry which is a stew of Roussette, the majestic bat frugivore, and in the Shark chutney which consists of finely sharpened and boiled shark skin.
Chicken with curry and coconut milk, coconut curry, lentils (Dhal), Satini rekin, tektek soup, bernic curry, palm salad, flat ladob fish curry or ladob dessert with blackberry and Sweet potatoes boiled with coconut milk, Kat-kat banana are the dishes found throughout the Indian Ocean.
The non-alcoholic beverage outside the water is either coconut water or fruit juice and freshly squeezed fruit juice that can be introduced in some culinary preparation. The alcoholic beverage includes Kalou palm wine), Bakka rum and local sessel beer.

Fresh local ingredient.

In the Seychelles kitchen most foods and condiments are of an extreme freshness. Seafood, tropical fruits and vegetables are offered in great variety by various Seychellois who improvise gatherers, fishermen and sellers that have found it at the markets or at the bend of a simple dirt road. There are, for example, 10 types of peppers with distinct flavors that are suitable only for a particular dish. Most of the food comes out of a garden that is 100 meters from the seller's stall and the fish just emerged from the water is right next to it. In the Seychelles, you will have no trouble choosing good food if you want to prepare your own Creole meal.

Mixing and variety.

All forms of meat and fish, prepared under 6 form: Roast in the oven, grilled, fried, smoked, raw, or boiled curry. The assortment king is rice also in all its forms: Nature, coconut milk, saffron, cumin, pepper, curry, nutmeg, ect. Also found in assortment of the classic or exotic vegetable as well as the catini which is a raw condiment consisting of different vegetables and fruits, such as apple malaka, green mango, pumpkin, eggplant, cucumber ... finely chopped or crushed, Spicy with ginger, garlic and more or less spicy.

Vegetables and Fruit The meat used is: Sea product :
Eggplant Chicken Reef fish
Papaya Roussette Shark
Mangues Lamb Marlins
Bananas Beef  Tuna
Cabbage Porc Lobsters
Avocado   Gambas 
Grapefruit   Octopus
Pineapple   Squid
Melons   Sellfish
Lemons    
Maniocs    
Sweat patatoes    
Carambola    
Apples    

Dishes and spices Seychelles:

Two dishes are not to be missed: Tamarind chutney, and fish curry with green papaya salad. 
The Pulao, which is cooked with fish, meat or vegetables, is a third.
When Chinese merchants settled in Seychelles, they brought a whole new dimension of flavors including pork to curry and crab soup to sweet potato and lemongrass.
Some dishes are original. If you read "flies" on a menu, know that it means "frugivorous bats". It is served in many restaurants with different styles of preparation. It has a taste similar to game for those who can compare but with its many small bones, it is painful to eat.
The Shark chutney is another typical Seychellois dish that is made with shark meat which is boiled and crushed then cooked with curcuma and lime juice with fried onion and small bilimbi cucumber.It is usually served with lentils and green papaya chutney with rice.
Ladob is a dish that is eaten salty or sweet. The dessert is composed of sweet potatoes and ripe plantain and can include breadfruit, cassava or soursop. It is boiled in coconut milk and nutmeg, sugar and vanilla are added. The dessert is creamy and sweet. The salty version is cooked in the same way as the dessert version, but with fish that is added to the preparation. Salt replaces sugar and vanilla.

Details about the Curry.

Curry, or Cari may designate a dish or the spice constituting it. Originally the word Indian Kari meant "sauce". Then, Anglicized it turned into Curry to designate a mixture of spices in the same way as Massala or Colombo. On the contrary, in the Indian Ocean on the French side, Curry refers to an assortment of dishes that is a complete meal, a mixture of vegetables, meats or fish flavored with homemade spices, the ingredients and taste of which vary greatly from one To another.

At the base of these mixtures often found a trunk of common spices:
INDIAN CURRY coriander, caraway, carnation, pepper, ginger, CARDAMOME, fenugreek, mustard, turmeric, garlic, pepper, salt, cinnamon, fennel, MASE, Cubebe..

MASSALA INDIAN CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, PIMENT, GINGER, CARDAMOME, MUSCADE, PEPPER, CANNELLE, MACIS, LAURIER

MASSALA REUNIONNAIS CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, PIMENT, GINGER, CARDAMOME, FENUGREC, MUSTARD, CURCUMA, MUSCADE, ORIGAN, SALT

TANDOORI INDIAN CORIANDER, CUMIN, GIROFLE, PEPPER, PEPPER, CINNAMON, FENUGREC, LAURIER, PAPRIKA, GARLIC, THYM, CELERI, CARVI, ROMARIN

COLOMBO CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, GINGER, CARDAMOME, FENUGREC, MUSTARD, CURCUMA, GARLIC, PEPPER, SALT, PAPRIKA, MUSCADE, FENNEL, ANIS

The dosage, the roasting, the origin of the seeds are all elements that condition the taste of the preparation. To this add the paw of the master who prepares the dish in its own way and you finally get dishes that will only have the common name that they carry. With the Creole cuisine there is no rule. The taste and color of the food continually change to surprise and satisfy the taste buds.

Seafood

You will have the opportunity to taste many fish preparations in the Seychelles. Among other things, shark, barracuda, grouper, red snapper, parrot fish, trevally, squid and octopus.Sometimes we find beef-seyssel which is the local name for turtle meat. 
The king fish is tuna prepared in large steak toasted with garlic butter and served with its creole sauce made of tomatoes, onions, green pepper and chilli. 
The octopus prepares itself in Zourit, a creamy curry. On the beach is the Tec Tec, a small white crustacean cooked to accompany pumpkin soup. During the laying season, several varieties of bird eggs are served hard, calf or omelette.

Drinks Seychelles

Alcoholic beverage made locally and artisanally: the Calou, a palm wine derived from the sap of coconut very good to drink and that is also used in the preparation of certain Seychellois dishes.There is also the Bacca made from sugarcane. 
It is the alcohol of predilections during ceremonies. With coconut extract, another alcohol is made.The Coco d'Amour liqueur. 
And finally we find of course Rhum and local brick. The Ekyu and the Seybrew.

Fruits

The variety of tropical fruits in the Seychelles is immense. Just for the banana you will find a lot of them with very different shapes and flavors. Some fruits such as grapefruit, orange lime, pineapple or guava, passion fruit, mango and papaya are known to all but some fruits may be less known to you such as fruit Jacquier, cinnamon apple, soursop, Lalo, or jamalac which is a cone-shaped fruit with soft skin and apple flavor. All these fruits can be made into fresh salad, juice or chutney. 
Sometimes they serve as snacks during the morning or afternoon. This is often the case with banana carro which is wrapped in banana leaf with honey and vanilla. It can be eaten fresh or dried. This snack gets its name from its resemblance to the carrot after its preparation.
Seychellois cuisine is unique because it combines the flavors of different ingredients that were introduced and cultivated over the centuries. With their own varieties of endemic fruits and seafood in abundance, the Seychellois were able to create something atypical.
When at the turn of a path your appetite will awaken to the smell of a small restaurant; Do not hesitate a moment! Go through the door and let yourself be guided by the waitress. Enjoy the real Creole cuisine in the small stalls that will change you from the kitchen of the hotel. The so-called Fusion cuisine offered in hotels, is often a mixture of French and Creole cuisine that although appreciable is not worth the true Seychelloise cuisine.

SEYCHELLES > Cuisine Créole

Cuisine Créole.

Cuisine des Seychelles

La cuisine Seychelloise est une attraction touristique en soi

C’est un mixe de cuisine Européenne, Indienne et évidement Africaine avec des épices exotique venues de Chine, du Brésil et des Antilles, telle que le curry, le gingembre, le piment, la citronnelle, la coriandre et le tamarin hérités des différents comptoirs que comptaient la France et l’Angleterre. L’art culinaire Seychellois est un savant mélange de saveurs acidulées, sucrées, riches et épicés qui font échos au métissage du peuple. Au cours des siècles, ces épices se sont combinées pour créer un grand choix de préparations qui place la cuisine Seychelloise et ses boissons typiques sur une place unique dans le monde de la cuisine. 

La ressource marine y  joue un rôle important ainsi que les fruits et légumes tropicaux.

L’accompagnent roi est le riz cuit et aromatisé de multiple façons. A la vapeur, grillé, dans la feuille de bananier, cuit au four , salé ou fumé etc.

La noix de coco, le fruit à pain, la mangue, la papaye verte, la carambole et la banane, sont les autres produits de bases. Lentilles, potirons, chayottes, patates douce, manioc, cœur de palmier sont les autres légumes les plus répandus.

Il n’y a rien de déroutant dans les aliments Seychellois. Sauf peut être dans le Bat curry qui est un civet de Roussette, la majestueuse chauve souris frugivore, et dans le Shark chutney qui se compose de peau de requin finement taillé et bouillie.

Le poulet au curry et lait de coco, le coconut curry, les lentilles (Dhal), le Satini rekin, la soupe de tektek, le cari bernique, la salade palmiste, le curry de poisson ladob en plat ou ladob dessert aux mûres plantains et patates douces bouilli au lait de coco, le Kat-kat banane sont les plats que l’on retrouve un peu partout dans l’Océan Indien.

La boisson non alcoolisé en dehors de l’eau est soit l'eau de coco soit du jus de fruit et soit du jus de fruit fraichement pressé que l’on peut introduire dans certaines préparation culinaire. La boisson alcoolisée comprend vin de palme le Kalou), le Bakka rhum et la bière local sessel.

De l’ingrédient local frais.

Dans la cuisine seychelloise la plupart des aliments et condiments sont d’une fraicheur extrême. Les produits de la mer, fruits et légumes tropicaux sont proposés en grande variété par divers Seychellois qui s’improvisent cueilleurs, pêcheurs et vendeurs que l’ont retrouvent aux marchés ou au détour d’un simple chemin de terre. Il y a par exemple 10 types de piments à saveurs distinctes qui ne conviennent que pour un plat particulier. L’ensemble des aliments sortent le plus souvent d’un jardin qui se trouve à 100m de l’étale du vendeur et le poisson à peine sorti de l’eau se retrouve juste à coté. Aux Seychelles, vous n’aurez aucun mal à choisir de bons aliments si vous souhaitez vous préparer votre propre repas créole.

Métissage et variété.

Toutes les formes de viandes et de poissons, sont préparés sous 6 forment : Rôti au four, grillé, frit, fumé, cru, ou bouilli au curry. L’assortiment roi est le riz lui aussi sous toutes ses forment : Nature, au lait de coco, au safran, au cumin, au piment, au cari, à la muscade, ect. Ont trouve également en assortiment du légume classique ou exotique ainsi que du chatini qui est un condiment cru constitué de différents légumes et fruits, comme la pomme malaka, la mangue verte, la citrouille, l’aubergine, le concombre… finement hachés ou écrasés, épicés avec du gingembre, de l’ail et plus ou moins pimentés.

Légumes et fruis La viande utilisée est: Produit de la mer :
Aubergines Poulet  Poissons de récifs
Papaye  Roussette Requin
Les mangues Agneau marlins
Bananes Bœuf  thons
Choux Porc Langoustes
Avocats   Gambas 
Pamplemousse    poulpes
Ananas   calamars
Melons   Coquillages
Citrons    
Maniocs  
Patates douces    
Caramboles    
Pommes d'or     

Plats et épices Seychelloises:

Deux plats sont incontournables : Le chutney de tamarin, et le curry de poisson avec salade de papaye verte.
Le Pulao, qui est du riz cuit avec du poisson, de la viande ou des légumes en est un troisième.

Lorsque les marchands chinois se sont installés aux Seychelles, ils ont apporté une toute nouvelle dimension de saveurs y compris la viande de porc au curry et la soupe de crabe à la patate douce et citronnelle.

Certains plats sont originaux. Si vous lisez « roussettes » sur un menu, sachez que cela signifie « chauves-souris frugivores ». Elle est servie dans de nombreux restaurants avec différents styles de préparation. Elle à un goût similaire au gibier pour ceux qui savent comparer mais avec ses nombreux petits os, elle est pénible à manger.

Le Shark chutney est un autre plat typique Seychellois qui est fait avec de la viande de requin qui est bouilli et écrasé puis cuit au Curcuma et jus de citron vert avec de l’oignon frit et de petit concombre bilimbi. Il est généralement servi avec des lentilles et chutney de papaye verte au riz.

Ladob est un plat qui se mange salé ou sucré. Le dessert est composé de patates douces et banane plantain mûr et peut inclure de l'arbre à pain, manioc ou corossol. Il est bouilli dans du lait de coco et de la noix de muscade, sucre et vanille sont ajoutés. Le dessert est crémeux et doux. La version salée est cuite de la même manière que la version de dessert, mais avec du poisson que l’on ajoute à la préparation. Le sel remplace le sucre et la vanille.

Précisions sur le Curry.

Le Curry, ou Cari peut désigner un plat ou l’épice le constituant. A l’origine le mot Indien Kari signifiait « sauce ». Puis, Anglicisé il s’est transformé en Curry pour désigner un mélange d’épices au même titre que le Massala ou le Colombo. A contrario dans l’Océan Indien du coté Francophone on désigne par Curry un assortiment de plat qui constitue un repas complet, mélange de légumes, de viandes ou de poissons aromatisés aux épices faites maison dont les ingrédients et le gout varient très fortement d’un foyer à un autre.

A la base de ces mélanges ont trouve souvent un tronc d’épices communes :
CURRY INDIEN CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, PIMENT, GINGEMBRE, CARDAMOME, FENUGREC, MOUTARDE, CURCUMA, AIL, POIVRE, SEL, CANNELLE, FENOUIL, MACIS, CUBEBE.

MASSALA INDIEN CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, PIMENT, GINGEMBRE, CARDAMOME, MUSCADE, POIVRE, CANNELLE, MACIS, LAURIER

MASSALA REUNIONNAIS CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, PIMENT, GINGEMBRE, CARDAMOME, FENUGREC, MOUTARDE, CURCUMA, MUSCADE, ORIGAN, SEL

TANDOORI INDIEN CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, PIMENT, POIVRE, CANNELLE, FENUGREC, LAURIER, PAPRIKA, AIL, THYM, CELERI, CARVI, ROMARIN

COLOMBO CORIANDRE, CUMIN, GIROFLE, GINGEMBRE, CARDAMOME, FENUGREC, MOUTARDE, CURCUMA, AIL, POIVRE, SEL, PAPRIKA, MUSCADE, FENOUIL, ANIS

Le dosage, la torréfaction, l’origine des graines sont autant d’éléments qui conditionnent le goût de la préparation. À cela ajoutez la patte du maître qui prépare le plat à sa manière et vous obtenez au final des plats qui n’auront de communs que le nom qu’ils portent. Avec la cuisine Créole il n’y a pas de règle. Le goût et la couleur de la nourriture changent continuellement pour surprendre et satisfaire les papilles.

Les fruits de mer

Vous aurez l'occasion de gouter de nombreuses préparations à base de poissons aux Seychelles. Entre autre, du requin, barracuda, mérou, vivaneau rouge, poisson perroquet, de la carangue, du calamar et du poulpe. Quelquefois on trouve du bœuf-seyssel qui est le nom local pour la viande de tortue.
Le poisson roi est le thon préparé en grand steak grillé au beurre à l’ail et servi avec sa sauce créole faite de tomates, d’oignons, de poivron vert et de piment.
Le poulpe se prépare quand à lui en Zourit, un curry crémeux. On trouve sur la plage le Tec Tec, un petit crustacé blanc que l’on cuit pour accompagner la soupe de potiron. Pendant la saison de la ponte, plusieurs variétés d'œufs d'oiseaux sont servis dur, mollet ou en omelette.

Boissons Seychelloises

En boisson alcoolisé fabriquée localement et artisanalement on trouve : le Calou, un vin de palme tiré de la sève de la noix de coco très bon à boire et que l’on utilise également dans la préparation de certains plats seychellois. Il y a aussi le Bacca fabriqué à partir de la canne à sucre.
C’est l’alcool de prédilections lors de cérémonies. Avec de l'extrait de noix de coco, on fabrique encore un autre alcool. La liqueur de Coco d'Amour.
Et pour finir on trouve évidement du Rhum et de la bierre locale. L’Ekyu et la Seybrew.

Fruits

La variété de fruits tropicaux aux Seychelles est immense. Rien que pour la banane vous en trouverez un grand nombre aux formes et saveurs bien différentes. Certains fruits comme le pamplemousse, l’orange le citron vert, l’ananas ou la goyave, le fruit de la passion, la mangue et la papaye sont connues de tout le monde mais certains fruits vous seront peut être moins connus tel le fruit du jacquier, la pomme cannelle, le corossol, le Lalo, ou le jamalac qui est un fruit en forme de cône à la peau douce et au goût de pomme. Tous ces fruits peuvent être faits en salade fraîche, en jus ou en chutney.
Parfois ils servent d’amuse-gueule durant la matinée ou l'après-midi. C’est souvent le cas de la banane carotte que l’on enveloppe dans de la feuille de bananier avec du miel et de la vanille. On peut la manger fraiche ou séché. Cette collation tient son nom de sa ressemblance avec la carotte après sa préparation.

La cuisine seychelloise est unique parce qu'elle combine les saveurs de différents ingrédients qui furent introduits et cultivés au fur et à mesures des siècles. Avec leurs propres variétés de fruits endémiques et leurs produits de la mer en abondance, les Seychellois surent créer quelque chose d’atypique.

Quand au détour d’un chemin votre appétit se réveillera à l’odeur d’un petit restaurant ; n’hésitez pas un instant ! Franchissez le pas de porte et laissez vous guider par la serveuse. Profitez de la véritable cuisine créole dans les petites échoppes qui vous changerons de la cuisine de l’hôtel. La cuisine dite de Fusion proposé en hôtellerie, est souvent un mélange de cuisine Française et créole qui bien qu’appréciable ne vaut pas la vrai cuisine Seychelloise.